Tahra catalog

204 references

Furtwängler conducts Schubert

Furt 2006 - Furtwängler conducts Schubert

Download

Schubert: Rosamunde, Interlude No. 3 in B flat major (Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra - 3.VI.1944) - Symphony No. 8 (9), the Great, D 944 (Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra - 6/8.XII.1942) - Wilhelm Furtwängler conducting

During the war, the sound engineer of the Radio of the Reich (RRG) Friedrich Schnapp recorded Furtwängler’s concerts in Berlin (and some in Vienna). After the victory over Germany in May 1945, the Russians took back to Moscow the great majority of sound archives of the German Radio and returned them to Germany only on 11 March 1991 (1462 tapes), at the time of Gorbatchev’s perestroika. The present Ninth Schubert Symphony that was recorded during a concert of the Berlin Philharmonic on 6 or 8 December 1942 is part of these tapes. As for the excerpt from Rosamunde, it is part of a recording also made by Schnapp with the Vienna Philharmonic on 3 June 1944 (it was a so-called Magnetofonkonzert).

Date : March, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129200619

Others references :

Composer : Schubert
Artist : Furtwängler

Carl Schuricht in Hamburg

Tah 664 - Carl Schuricht in Hamburg

Download

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7, in A major - Recorded at the Musikhalle on 15.IV.1957 - Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 4, in E minor - Recorded at the Musikhalle on 07.VIII.1958 - NDWR Sinfonieorchester, Carl Schuricht conducting

The relationship between Schuricht and the Hamburg NDR orchestra and its steady conductor Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt was always marked by great friendship and mutual respect; the highlight of this collaboration was the performance of the Missa Solemnis at the Montreux Festival in September 1957. Schuricht was invited ten times to Hamburg, particularly in 1957 and 1958, when he performed the Beethoven Seventh (one of his preferred and best works) and the Brahms Fourth. These recordings are released for the first time.

Date : February, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129066413

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven, Brahms
Artist : Schuricht

Brahms by Furtwängler

Furt 2005 - Brahms by Furtwängler

Download

Johannes Brahms: Variations on a theme by Haydn, op. 56 - Public recording made at Théâtre National de l'Opéra in Paris on 4.V.1954
Symphony No. 1, op. 68 - Public recording made at Titania Palast in Berlin on 10.II.1952
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra - Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwängler

Contrary to Beethoven and Bruckner, Furtwängler started only very slowly to conduct Brahms. Furtwängler Brahms as the successor of the ancient German and Dutch Masters and to him, the Brahms Symphonies depict a savage fantastic and almost demoniac world. Furtwängler considers Brahms as the image of the « classical » German, representing most strikingly German art with all its asperities and its sweetness, its external reserve and its interior abandon, its vehemence and its discipline. This version (remastered), comes from a Live concert in Berlin in February 1952, and with that of Hamburg of 1951 remains the most beautiful testimony of this great German conductor

Note : New mastering of the Variations on a theme by Haydn (Furt 1023) - The Brahms First is released for the first time by Tahra

Substitute : Furt 1023

Others references :

Composer : Brahms
Artist : Furtwängler

Pierre Monteux in Paris

Tah 665 - Pierre Monteux in Paris

Download

François Couperin: La Sultane, introduction and allegro
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 9, op. 125 in D minor
Orchestre National de la R.T.F. - Solistes : Maria Stader (soprano) - Hélène Bouvier (mezzo-soprano) - Libero de Luca (ténor) - Josef Greindl (basse) - Choeur de la Radiodiffusion Française, direction René Alix
Enregistrement public réalisé au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées le 6.XI.1958

The Beethoven Ninth was a special favorite of Monteux’s. During his 17 years in San Francisco, he almost always concluded every season with it and he chose to conduct it on his 85th birthday concert with the Boston Symphony in 1960. Monteux’s interpretation is very faithful to the score, and there is nothing philosophical about it. In 1963 he recorded the Ninth with the London Symphony for the American Label Westminster. The present recording comes from Pierre Monteux’s last concert in Paris on 6 November 1958. The liner notes include a short overview of the tradition of this Ninth Symphony in Leipzig and in Japan.

Date : January, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129066512

Others references :

Composer : Couperin, Beethoven
Artist : Monteux

Furtwängler & Beethoven

Furt 2002/2004 - Furtwängler & Beethoven

CD I : Symphony No. 3, Eroica, op. 55, in E flat major - Titania Palast, 8.XII.1952
CD II : Symphony No. 5, op. 67 in C minor & Symphony No. 6, Pastorale, op. 68 in F major - Titania Palast, 25.V.1947
CD III : Symphony No. 7, op. 92 in A major
Symphony No. 8, op. 93 in F majoer - Titania Palast, 14.IV.1953
Wilhelm Furtwängler conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker

After the Ninth Symphony recorded at the Lucerne Festival on 21 August 1954 (SACD Furt 2001), this new Tahra release features a mini Beethoven cycle under Furtwängler (NEWLY REMASTERED) of symphonies 3, 5, 6, 7 and 8, all in live performances recorded between 1947 and 1953 at the Titania Palast in Berlin with the Berliner Philharmonic.
The concert of 1947 is interesting in so far as it is Furtwängler’s comeback to Berlin and to his former orchestra.

Date : October, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129200213

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Furtwängler

Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

West 3007-3008 - Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

CD I: F. LISZT: Piano Concerto No. 1, in E flat major - Piano Concerto No. 2, in A major - B. BARTOK : Piano Concerto No. 2 (1930)
CD II : B. BARTOK : Piano Concerto No. 3 (1945) - S. RACHMANINOV : Piano Concerto No. 2, op. 18 in C minor /
Vienna State Opera Orchestra -
Conductor: Hermann Scherchen & Piano: Edith Farnadi
Recordings made in July 1953 (Bartok) and in October 1952 (Rachmaninov). The recording dates of the Liszt concertos are unknown but might be October 1951.

Date : April, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129300715

Others references :

Composer : Bach, Liszt, Rachmaninov
Artist : Farnadi, Scherchen

Great performers: Dietrich FIscher-Dieskau

Tah 646 - Great performers: Dietrich FIscher-Dieskau

G. Mahler: Kindertotenlieder (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt conducting, recorded 6.VI.1955) - Lieder eins fahrenden Gesellen (Kölner RSO, Otto Ackermann conducting, recorded 9.VI.1954) - Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (Orchestre National de France, Carl Schuricht conducting, recorded at the Besançon Festival on 9.IX.1957)

Dietrich Fiecher-Dieskau, the century’s barytone, performed throughout his career some three thousand lieder (and read the music of some two thousand more): mainly Schubert but also Brahms, Mendelssohn, Wolf, R. Strauss… and Gustav Mahler.
The recordings resented in this CD are released for the first time: the Kindertotenlieder with Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt in Hamburg, two versions of the Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, with Otto Ackermann in Cologne and Carl Schuricht at the Besançon Festival.

Date : March, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129064617

Others references :

Composer :
Artist :

Great performers: Wilhelm Kempff

Tah 649 - Great performers: Wilhelm Kempff

L. van BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 1 (Orchestre National de France – Carl Schuricht conducting - Recorded 14.IX.1955) - L. van BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3 (Orchestre National de France – Karl Münchinger conducting -
recorded 26.IX.1957)

Some critics saw in Kempff’s performances only mannerism whereas others highlighted his magnificent sense of balance and the fullness of his sound. Kempff never was a virtuoso of the keyboard but a musician and a philosopher: «Making music has always been for me a kind of thirst and of hunger. It is my second nature. The music that I love is my heart». With its refinements, Kempff’s message is entirely made of joy and light.
The two present recordings are released for the first time.

Date : March, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129064914

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Kempff, Münchinger, Schuricht

Quartetto Italiano

Tah 647/648 - Quartetto Italiano

CD I: J. HAYDN: Quartet op. 76 No. 4, « Sonnenaufgang » - Quartet op. 3 No. 5, « Serenaden-Quartett » - Quartet op. 76 No. 2, « Quinten-Quartett »
CD II: L. BOCCHERINI: Quartet op. 39 No. 3 - L. van BEETHOVEN: Quartet No. 10, op. 74, « Harfen-Quartett »

Founded in 1945, the Quartetto Italiano gave more than 3000 concerts all over the world. For all but four of its thirty five years the quartet remained unchanged: Paolo Borciani, Elisa Pegreffi, Piero Farulli and Franco Rossi. And unlike so many other quartets, the members of the Quartetto Italiano didn’t play on great Stradivarius, Guarnierius or Amati instruments, but on less venerable and less famous instruments. In other words, the musician was more important for the beauty of sound than his or her instrument.

Date : February, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129064716

Others references :

Composer : Boccherini, Beethoven, Haydn
Artist :

The great performers: Otto Klemperer

Tah 636/637 - The great performers: Otto Klemperer

CD I: L. van BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 4 (soloist: Leon Fleischer – Kölner RSO - 27.II.1956) - Symphony No. 6 (RIAS Berlin - 15.II.1954)
CD II: L. van BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 8
(Kölner RSO - 28.V.1955) - J. BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 (Kölner RSO - 17.X.1955)

Like Furtwängler, Klemperer was a representative of the great German humanist romantic tradition and through his art he gave voice to a vision of the world, although his own search for truth lay in faithful respect for the musical score. But, as with Knappertsbusch, he was fascinated by vast monumental structures. Klemperer was the perfect opposite of Bruno Walter. Even though both were converted Jews and disciples of Mahler, where Walter reassures, Klemperer disturbs with his radicalism and his provocative lucidity. Karajan said one day that he wished to make Schoenberg sound like Mozart. One could say that throughout his life, Klemperer tried to make Mozart sound like Schoenberg...

Date : February, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129063610

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven, Brahms
Artist : Fleischer, Klemperer

Français
Tahra

Catalogue Tahra

204 references

Schubert par Furtwängler

Furt 2006 - Schubert par Furtwängler

Télécharger

Schubert : Rosamunde, entr'acte n° 3 en si bémol majeur (Orchestre Philharmonique de Vienne - 3.VI.1944) - Symphonie n° 8 (9), la Grande, D 944 (Orchestre Philharmonique de Berlin - 6/8.XII.1942) - Direction : Wilhelm Furtwängler

Durant la guerre, l’ingénieur du son de la Radio du Reich (RRG), Friedrich Schnapp, enregistra les concerts de Furtwängler à Berlin (et quelques-uns à Vienne). Après la chute de l’Allemagne en mai 1945, les Russes emportèrent à Moscou la majeure partie des archives sonores de la Radio Allemande. Ce n’est que le 11 mars 1991 que 1462 bandes furent restituées à l’Allemagne, grâce à la perestroika de Gorbatchev. Parmi celles-ci, cette Neuvième Symphonie de Schubert, captée lors d’un concert de la Philharmonie de Berlin, les 6 ou 8 décembre 1942. Quant à lui, l’extrait de Rosamunde provient d’un enregistrement réalisé par Schnapp avec la Philharmonie de Vienne le 3 juin 1944 (sous l’appellation de Magnetofonkonzert).

Date parution : Mars 2009 - Code barre : 3504129200619

Autres références :

Compositeur : Schubert
Interprète : Furtwängler

Carl Schuricht à Hambourg

Tah 664 - Carl Schuricht à Hambourg

Télécharger

Ludwig van Beethoven : Symphonie n° 7, en la majeur - Enregistrement réalisé à la Musikhalle le 15.IV.1957 - Johannes Brahms : Symphonie n° 4, en mi mineur - Enregistrement réalisé à la Musikhalle le 07.VIII.1958 - NDWR Sinfonieorchester, direction Carl Schuricht

La relation entre Schuricht et l'orchestre de la NDR de Hambourg et son chef Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt fut toujours empreinte d’une grande amitié et d’une estime réciproque, le point culminant de leur collaboration ayant été l’exécution de la Missa Solemnis au Festival de Montreux en septembre 1957. Schuricht fur invité à dix reprises à Hambourg, en particulier en 1957 et 1958, où il interpréta la 7e de Beethoven (l’un de ses chevaux de bataille) et la 4e de Brahms. Ces enregistrements sont inédits.

Date parution : Fevrier 2009 - Code barre : 3504129066413

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven, Brahms
Interprète : Schuricht

Brahms par Furtwängler

Furt 2005 - Brahms par Furtwängler

Télécharger

Johannes Brahms : Variations sur un thème de Haydn, op. 56 - Enregistrement public réalisé au Théâtre National de l'Opéra de Paris, le 4.V.1954
Symphonie n° 1, op. 68 - Enregistrement public réalisé au Titania Palast de Berlin, le 10.II.1952
Orchestre Philharmonique de Berlin - Direction : Wilhelm Furtwängler

A la différence de Beethoven et Bruckner, ce n’est que lentement que Furtwängler commença à jouer les œuvres de Brahms. Il voyait en lui le successeur des vieux Maîtres allemands ou hollandais et ses symphonies évoquent un monde sauvage, fantastique, voire démoniaque. Brahms sera pour Furtwängler l’image du « classique » allemand, représentant l’art allemand avec son âpreté et sa douceur, sa réserve extérieure et son abandon intérieur, sa véhémence et sa discipline. La première symphonie aura été une fidèle compagne de sa vie, avec son envergure exceptionnelle jusqu’à l’explosion de lumière finale dans une jubilation sauvage et conquérante. La version publiée (et remastérisée), provenant d’un concert à Berlin en février 1952, est avec celle de Hambourg 1951 le plus beau témoignage laissé par le grand chef allemand.

Note : Nouveau mastering des Variations sur un thème de Haydn (Furt 1023) - La première Symphonie est publiée pour la première fois par Tahra

Remplacé par : Furt 1023

Autres références :

Compositeur : Brahms
Interprète : Furtwängler

Pierre Monteux à Paris

Tah 665 - Pierre Monteux à Paris

Télécharger

François Couperin : La Sultane, introduction et allegro
Ludwig van Beethoven : Symphonie n° 9, op. 125 en ré mineur
Orchestre National de la R.T.F. - Solistes : Maria Stader (soprano) - Hélène Bouvier (mezzo-soprano) - Libero de Luca (ténor) - Josef Greindl (basse) - Choeur de la Radiodiffusion Française, direction René Alix
Enregistrement public réalisé au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées le 6.XI.1958

La 9ème Symphonie de Beethoven était l’une des œuvres préférées de Pierre Monteux. Durant ses 17 années à San Francisco , il la joua pratiquement à la fin de chaque saison et il décida de la jouer à Boston pour son 85ème anniversaire en 1960. Son interprétation est fidèle à la partition et ne renferme aucun pathos ou aucune « philosophie ». En 1963 il l’enregistra avec le London Symphony pour la Firme Westminster. Le présent enregistrement provient du dernier concert que Monteux donna à Paris le 6 novembre 1958. Le livret comporte une étude sur la tradition de la 9ème Symphonie à Leipzig et au Japon.

Date parution : Janvier 2009 - Code barre : 3504129066512

Autres références :

Compositeur : Couperin, Beethoven
Interprète : Monteux

Furtwängler & Beethoven

Furt 2002/2004 - Furtwängler & Beethoven

CD I : Symphonie n° 3, Eroica, op. 55, en mi bémol majeur - Titania Palast 8.XII.1952
CD II : Symphonie n° 5, op. 67 en ut mineur & Symphonie n° 6, Pastorale, op. 68 en fa majeur - Titania Palast 25.V.1947
CD III : Symphonie n° 7, op. 92 en la majeur
Symphonie n° 8, op. 93 en fa majeur - Titania Palast, 14.IV.1953
Wilhelm Furtwängler dirige les Berliner Philharmoniker

et 6 (25.V.1947)

Après la Neuvième Symphonie enregistrée au Festival de Luzern le 21 août 1954 (SACD Furt 2001), nous poursuivons (avec un NOUVEAU MASTERING) un mini-cycle Beethoven avec les symphonies 3, 5, 6, 7 et 8 captées lors de concerts publics au Titania Palast de Berlin avec les Berliner Philharmoniker, entre 1947 et 1953.
Le concert de 1947 est intéressant dans la mesure où ce sont les retrouvailles de Furtwängler avec Berlin et son orchestre.

Date parution : Octobre 2008 - Code barre : 3504129200213

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Furtwängler

Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

West 3007-3008 - Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

CD I : F. LISZT : Concerto pour piano n° 1, en mi bémol majeur - Concerto pour piano n° 2, en la majeur - B. BARTOK : Concerto pour piano n° 2 (1930)
CD II : B. BARTOK : Concerto pour piano n° 3 (1945) - S. RACHMANINOV : Concerto pour piano n° 2, op. 18 en ut mineur /
Orchestre de l’Opéra d'Etat de Vienne
Direction : Hermann Scherchen & Piano : Edith Farnadi
Enregistrements réalisés en juillet 1953 (Bartok), et en octobre 1952 (Rachmaninov). La date d’enregistrement des concertos de Liszt n’est pas connue mais pourrait se situer en octobre 1951.

Date parution : Avril 2008 - Code barre : 3504129300715

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bach, Liszt, Rachmaninov
Interprète : Farnadi, Scherchen

Les grands interprètes: Dietrich FIscher-Dieskau

Tah 646 - Les grands interprètes: Dietrich FIscher-Dieskau

G. Mahler: Kindertotenlieder (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, direction Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt, enregistrement du 6.VI.1955) - Lieder eins fahrenden Gesellen (Kölner RSO, dir. Otto Ackermann, enregistrement du 9.VI.1954) - Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (Orchestre National de France, dir. Carl Schuricht, enregistrement au Festival de Besançon le 9.IX.1957)

Dietrich Fiecher-Dieskau, le baryton du siècle, interpréta au cours de sa carrière quelques trois mille lieder (et lu la musique de deux mille autres), avant tout Schubert mais aussi Brahms, Mendelssohn, Wolf, R. Strauss… et Gustav Mahler.
Les enregistrements publiés dans le CD sont inédits: Les Kindertotenlieder avec Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt à Hambourg, et deux versions des Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, avec Otto Ackermann à Cologne et Carl Schuricht au Festival de Besançon.

Date parution : Mars 2008 - Code barre : 3504129064617

Autres références :

Compositeur :
Interprète :

Les grands interprètes : Wilhelm Kempff

Tah 649 - Les grands interprètes : Wilhelm Kempff

L. van BEETHOVEN: Concerto pour piano n° 1 (Orchestre National de France – Direction : Carl Schuricht - Enregistrement du 14.IX.1955) - L. van BEETHOVEN : Concerto pour piano n° 3 (Orchestre National de France – Direction : Karl Münchinger -
Enregistrement du 26.IX.1957)

Certains critiques n’ont vu en lui que maniérisme alors que d’autres mettaient en relief son splendide équilibre et sa plénitude sonore. Kempff n’a jamais été un virtuose du clavier mais un musicien doublé d’un philosophe. « Faire de la musique a toujours été pour moi une soif, une faim. C’est ma seconde nature. La musique que j’aime, c’est mon coeur ». Avec ses raffinements, le message de Kempff est un message de lumière et de joie.
Les deux enregistrements que nous publions dans ce coffret, sont inédits.

Date parution : Mars 2008 - Code barre : 3504129064914

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Kempff, Münchinger, Schuricht

Quartetto Italiano

Tah 647/648 - Quartetto Italiano

CD I : J. HAYDN : Quatuor op. 76 n° 4, « Sonnenaufgang » - Quatuor op. 3 n° 5, « Serenaden-Quartett » - Quatuor op. 76 n° 2, « Quinten-Quartett »
CD II
L. BOCCHERINI : Quatuor op. 39 n° 3 - L. van BEETHOVEN : Quatuor n° 10, op. 74, « Harfen-Quartett »

Créé en 1945, le Quartetto Italiano fut actif durant 35 ans, jusqu’à sa dissolution en 1980, donnant environ 3000 concerts partout dans le monde. Pendant 31 ans, les membres furent les mêmes (Paolo Borciani, Elisa Pegreffi, Piero Farulli, Franco Rossi), à la différence de beaucoup d’autres quatuors qui ont changé souvent d’artistes. Contrairement à d’autres, les membres du Quartetto Italiano ne jouaient pas sur de grands Stradivarius, Guarnierius ou Amati, mais sur des instruments plus récents ou de moindre renommée… ce qui peut rappeler l’importance de l’interprète pour la beauté du son.

Date parution : Fevrier 2008 - Code barre : 3504129064716

Autres références :

Compositeur : Boccherini, Beethoven, Haydn
Interprète :

Les grands interprètes : Otto Klemperer

Tah 636/637 - Les grands interprètes : Otto Klemperer

CD I : L. van BEETHOVEN : Concerto pour piano n° 4 (Soliste : Leon Fleischer – Kölner RSO - 27.II.1956) - Symphonie n° 6 (RIAS Berlin - 15.II.1954)
CD II : L. van BEETHOVEN : Symphonie n° 8
(Kölner RSO - 28.V.1955) - J. BRAHMS : Symphonie n° 1 (Kölner RSO - 17.X.1955)

A l’instar de Furtwängler, Klemperer fut un représentant du romantisme humaniste allemand et exprimait par son Art une vision du monde mais chez lui la recherche de la vérité musicale se faisait à travers le respect fidèle du texte. Comme Knappertsbusch, il était attiré par les grandes architectures et le monumental mais il fut aussi un anti-Walter. Là où celui-ci rassurait, Klemperer inquiétait par sa lucidité provocante. Karajan a dit un jour qu’il souhaitait pouvoir faire sonner Schönberg comme du Mozart. Toute sa vie, Klemperer s’est employé à faire sonner Mozart comme du Schönberg !

Date parution : Fevrier 2008 - Code barre : 3504129063610

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven, Brahms
Interprète : Fleischer, Klemperer

English
Tahra