Tahra catalog

204 references

Great Performers: Pierre Fournier

Tah 645 - Great Performers: Pierre Fournier

R. Schumann: Cello concerto, op. 129 (Sinfonieorchester des Südwetsfunks, Hans Rosbaud conducting - Recorded 14.IV.1957) - A. Dvorak: Cello concerto, op. 104 (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt conducting - Recorded 14.V.1956)

The Dvorak and Schumann concertos (the present recordings are issued here for the first time) were among the highlights throught Pierre Fournier’s career. Pierre Fournier treated this concerto that he adored (and which gave it back to him) as a sinfonia concertante for orchestra and cello. There exist no less than eighteen Live recordings of it in different radio archives.

Date : January, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129064518

Others references :

Composer : Dvorak, Schumann
Artist : Fournier, Rosbaud, Schmidt-Isserstedt

Clara Haskil plays Beethoven

Tah 634 - Clara Haskil plays Beethoven

L. van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3, op. 37 (Boston Symphony Orchestra, Charles Munch conducting - Recorded Live 3.XI.1956) - Piano Concerto No. 4, op. 58 (Studio-Orchester Beromünster, Erich Schmid conducting - Recorded 25.I.1959)

Although Clara Haskil “was sent on earth to play Mozart”, she is a great Beethoven performer as prove the recordings of these two concertos: the Third concerto that she gave in a live concert in Boston under Charles Munch, and the Fourth concerto, a studio recording of the Swiss Radio and never issued before.

Note : Not for sale in the USA

Date : November, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129063412

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Schmid, Haskil, Munch

Hermann Scherchen conducts Beethoven

West 3009-10 - Hermann Scherchen conducts Beethoven

CD I: L. van Beethoven: Piano Concert No. 3, op. 37 (soloist: Paul Badura-Skoda - Stereo recording of July 1958) - Overtures Leonore II and III (recorded 1951)
CD II: L. Van Beethoven: Egmont, stage music (soloist: Magda Laszlo, narrator: Fred Liewehr - Vienna State Opera Orchestra - Recorded July 1953) - Great Fugue, op. 133 (English Baroque Orchestra - Recorded 14.IX.1954)

This fifth volume of the Scherchen-Westminster archives, licensed by Deutsche Grammophon, contains only Beethoven works recorded between 1951 and 1958. First, the Third Piano concerto which is the only recording of the five concertos with the young 30 year-old Badura-Skoda. Then the famous overtures Leonore II and III as well as the stage music of Egmont with the soprano Magda Laszlo. Last but not least, the Great Fugue in Felix Weingartner's transcription. This recording is not with the Lugano RTSI orchestra already released by Tahra, but with the English Baroque Orchestra in London, recorded in September 1954. All four recordings have never been issued on CD until now.

Note : May be downloaded on i-tunes

Date : October, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129300913

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Badura-Skoda, Laszlo, Liewehr, Scherchen

Great Interpreters: Gerhard Taschner

Tah 641 - Great Interpreters: Gerhard Taschner

A. Dvorak: Violin Concerto op. 53 (Berliner Philharmoniker, Lovro von Matacic conducting - Recorded 26.XI.1942) - A. Khatchaturian: Violin Concerto (1940) (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt conducting - Recorded 8/9.V.1955)

Although many radio recordings of Gerhard Taschner have been deleted, luckily quite a number of Live recordings with the «Manolete of the violin» have survived. The present two recordings are released here for the first time: the Dvorak concerto broadcast in Berlin in November 1942 in excellent sound conditions (it is the only known document of this concerto with Taschner) and the Khatchaturian concerto coming from a concert in Hamburg conducted by Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt. The present version is by far better than the one we released some years ago under Arthur Rother.

Date : September, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129064112

Others references :

Composer : Khatchaturian, Dvorak
Artist : Matacic, Schmidt-Isserstedt, Taschner

Great Interpreters: Guila Bustabo

Tah 640 - Great Interpreters: Guila Bustabo

Excerpts from an interview of G. Bustabo (July 2001)
L. van Beethoven: Violin Concerto, op. 61 (Concertgebouw Orkest, Willem Mengelberg conducting - Live recording of 6.V.1943) - A. Dvorak: Violin Concerto, op. 53 (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt conducting - Recorded 21.III.1955)

Guila Bustabo (1916-2002) gave her first recital at the age of 4. She was a child prodigy of the violin and the press called her the "Prima donna assunta of the violin". Everybody agreed that she had a new stormy temperament and that she had «dynamite in her veins». Her discography is rather limited as well as the existing radio archives with her. The Beethoven concerto that she gave under Mengelberg in Amsterdam during the war is known but the Dvorak concerto with Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt in Hamburg is a first-time release. The CD includes also a short sound document with Bustabo speaking towards the end of her life.

Note : Can be downloaded on i-tunes

Date : September, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129064013

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven, Dvorak
Artist : Bustabo, Mengelberg, Schmidt-Isserstedt

Previously unissued Mahler archives

Tah 642-644 - Previously unissued Mahler archives

CD I: Symphony No. 1 (Staatskapelle Dresden, J. Keilberth conducting) 4.II.1950
CD II: Symphony No. 2 (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt conducting, soloists: Oda Balsborg and Sieglinde Wagner) 12.XI.1956
CD III: Symphony No. 4 (Städtisches Opernhaus- und Museumsorchester, Bruno Walter conducting, soloist: Annelies Kupper) 4.IX.1950

One of the essential traits in Mahlerĺs creation is the fact that his works consist only of Lieder and symphonies. This apparently fortuitous fact is of capital importance: in fact it is the vivifying source of the Lied that nourished in him the symphonic flow and conditioned its evolution, at least in the first four symphonies.
The present three recordings come from German archives (Keilberth in Dresden, Schmidt-Isserstedt in Hamburg and Walter in Frankfurt).

Date : August, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129064211

Others references :

Composer : Mahler
Artist : Balsborg, Keilberth, Kupper, Schmidt-Isserstedt, Walter

Great Interpreters: Ferenc Fricsay

Tah 635 - Great Interpreters: Ferenc Fricsay

F. Schubert: Symphony No. 8, D 944 (previously No. 9) (Sinfonieorchester des Hessischen Rundfunks - Recorded 4.XI.1955)

The Fricsay phonography includes several previously unissued recordings, particularly this Schubert symphony that, additionally, is the only known recording to date and is released here for the very first time. Fricsay is conducting the orchestra of the Frankfurt Radio in a live concert in November 1955.

Note : It is the only existing recording of this work with Fricsay as conductor.

Date : August, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129063511

Others references :

Composer : Schubert
Artist : Fricsay

Previously unissued recordings of Eugen jochum

Tah 638/639 - Previously unissued recordings of Eugen jochum

CD I: A. Bruckner: Symphonie n° 8 en ut mineur
CD II: Antonin Dvorak: Concerto pour violoncelle et orchestre

This is a historical recording of Bruckner's Eighth Symphony. On the other hand, the Dvorak concerto is the only recording of this work with Jochum.

Date : May, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129063818

Others references :

Composer : Bruckner, Dvorak
Artist : Mainardi, Jochum

Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli

Tah 631 - Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli

Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor - Orchestra della Radiotelevisione della Svizzera Italiana, cond. Hermann Scherchen - Live recording made in Lugano on 21.VI.1956 - Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 1 - Orchestra del Maggio Musicale di Firenze, cond. Dimitri Mitropoulos - Live recording of 17.VI.1953 - Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 4 - Orchestra di Roma della RAI, cond. Franco Caracciolo -
Previously unissued recording of 12.V.1956

[10] CHOPIN : Valse, op. postume n° 4 (bis)

Besides the Schumann concerto with Scherchen and the Liszt concerto with Mitropoulos, the present CD includes Benedetti-Michelangeli in a previously unissued recording of the Rachmaninov Fourth Concerto under the Italian conductor Caracciolo. The liner notes were written by Professor Clémenty, a cardiologist who operated on Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli following his heart attack during a recital he gave in Bordeaux on 17.X.1988. They soon became friends, and Professor Clémenty draws here a sometimes intimate portrait of the famous pianist.

Date : April, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129063115

Others references :

Composer : Chopin, Liszt, Rachmaninov, Schumann
Artist : Benedetti-Michelangeli

Monique Haas performs Mozart

Tahra 629 - Monique Haas performs Mozart

Piano Concerto No. 21, KV 467 - Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden, cond. Hans Rosbaud - Previously unissued recording of 9.XI.1956 - Piano Concerto No. 23, KV 488
NDR Sinfonieorchester, cond. Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt
- Previously unissued recording made at the Musikhalle on 27.I.1956 - Bonus: J. S. Bach: Concerto in the Italian style, BWV 971 - J. Ph. Rameau: Les Cyclopes -
Decca recordings made in February 1946

In June 1987, twenty years ago, Monique Haas, pupil of the famous pedadogue Lazare-Lévy, died. On this occasion we are releasing two previously unissued Mozart recordings made with the conductors Hans Rosbaud and Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt. As a complement, we have issued two rare recordings (Bach and Rameau) that she made in London in 1946 for Decca. The American pianist Charles Timbrell, one of Monique Haas' pupils kindly agreed to write the liner notes in which he portrays her as a woman «looking like she had just stepped out from an advertisement for Dior…»
The booklet includes also Monique Haas' discography.

Note : On Tahra's fifteenth anniversay
Available for downloading on i-tunes

Date : April, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129062910

Others references :

Composer : Mozart
Artist : Haas, Rosbaud, Schmidt-Isserstedt

Franšais
Tahra

Catalogue Tahra

204 references

Les grands interprètes : Pierre Fournier

Tah 645 - Les grands interprètes : Pierre Fournier

R. Schumann : Concerto pour Violoncelle, op. 129 (Sinfonieorchester des Südwetsfunks, dir. Hans Rosbaud - Enregistrement du 14.IV.1957) - A. Dvorak: Concerto pour violoncelle, op. 104 (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, dir. Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt - Enregistrement du 14.V.1956)

Les concertos de Dvorak et Schumann (dont nous publions des enregistrements inédits) ont jalonné durant des décennies la glorieuse carrière de Pierre Fournier qui concevait ce concerto qu'il adorait (et qui le lui rendait totalement) comme une symphonie avec violoncelle concertant. Pas moins de dix-huit enregistrements Live existent dans diverses archives radiophoniques.

Date parution : Janvier 2008 - Code barre : 3504129064518

Autres références :

Compositeur : Dvorak, Schumann
Interprète : Fournier, Rosbaud, Schmidt-Isserstedt

Clara Haskil joue Beethoven

Tah 634 - Clara Haskil joue Beethoven

L. van Beethoven : Concerto pour piano n° 3, op. 37 (Boston Symphony Orchestra, direction Charles Munch - Enregistrement pblic du 3.XI.1956) - Concerto pour piano n° 4, op. 58 (Studio-Orchester Beromünster, direction Erich Schmid - Enregistrement du 25.I.1959)

Si Clara Haskil « fut envoyée sur terre pour jouer Mozart », elle reste néanmoins une grande interprète beethovénienne comme le prouvent les enregistrements de ces deux concertos : le 3ème, lors d'un concert public à Boston avec Charles Munch, et le 4ème, capté dans un studio de la Radio Suisse et resté inédit à ce jour.

Note : Not for sale in the USA

Date parution : Novembre 2007 - Code barre : 3504129063412

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Schmid, Haskil, Munch

Hermann Scherchen dirige Beethoven

West 3009-10 - Hermann Scherchen dirige Beethoven

CD I : L. van Beethoven : Concert pour piano n° 3, op. 37 (soliste : Paul Badura-Skoda - Enregistrement stéréo de juillet 1958) - Ouvertures Leonore II et III (enregistrements 1951)
CD II: L. Van Beethoven : Egmont, musique de scène (soliste : Magda Laszlo, récitant : Fred Liewehr - Orchestra de l'Opéra de Vienne - Enregistrement juillet 1953) - Grande Fugue, op. 133 (English Baroque Orchestra - Enregistrement 14.IX.1954)

Ce cinquième volume des archives Scherchen-Westminster, publiées sous licence Deutsche Grammophon, ne comporte que des enregistrements d'œuvres beethoveniennes, réalisés entre 1951 et 1958. D'abord, le troisième concerto pour piano qui est l'unique enregistrement de l'intégrale avec le jeune Badura-Skoda âgé de 30 ans. Puis les célèbres ouvertures Leonore II et III ainsi que la musique de scène d'Egmont, avec la soprano Magda Laszlo. Enfin, la Grande Fugue dans la transcription de Felix Weingartner. Il s'agit du rare enregistrement, non pas avec l'orchestre de la RTSI Lugano que nous avons publié précédemment, mais avec l'English Baroque Orchestra à Londres, en septembre 1954. Ces quatre enregistrements n'ont jamais été publiés en CD à ce jour.

Note : Disponible en téléchargement sur i-tunes

Date parution : Octobre 2007 - Code barre : 3504129300913

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Badura-Skoda, Laszlo, Liewehr, Scherchen

Les Grands Interprètes: Gerhard Taschner

Tah 641 - Les Grands Interprètes: Gerhard Taschner

A. Dvorak: Concerto pour violon op. 53 (Berliner Philharmoniker, direction Lovro von Matacic - Enregistrement du 26.XI.1942) - A. Khatchaturian: Concerto pour violon (1940) (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, direction Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt - Enregistrement des 8/9.V.1955)

Bien que de très nombreuses archives radiophoniques aient été effacées, plusieurs enregistrements Live de celui qu’on baptisa « le Manolete du violon » ont survécu au massacre. Ainsi ces deux documents qui sont inédits et publiés pour la première fois : un concerto de Dvorak capté à Berlin en novembre 1942 dans d’excellentes conditions sonores (c’est le seul document connu avec Taschner) et le concerto de Khatchaturian issu d’un concert à Hambourg dirigé par Schmidt-Isserstedt. Cette version surpasse celle que nous avons publiée il y a quelques années sous la direction d’Arthur Rother.

Date parution : Septembre 2007 - Code barre : 3504129064112

Autres références :

Compositeur : Khatchaturian, Dvorak
Interprète : Matacic, Schmidt-Isserstedt, Taschner

Les Grands Interprètes : Guila Bustabo

Tah 640 - Les Grands Interprètes : Guila Bustabo

Extrait d'une interview de G. Bustabo (juillet 2001)
L. van Beethoven: Concerto pour violon, op. 61 (Concertgebouw Orkest, direction Willem Mengelberg - Enregistrement public du 6.V.1943) - A. Dvorak: Concerto pour violon, op. 53 (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, direction Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt - Enregistrement du 21.III.1955)

Ayant donné son premier récital à l'âge de 4 ans, Guila Bustabo (1916-2002) fut une enfant prodige du violon que la presse baptisa « Prima donna assunta du violon ». Tout le monde reconnaissait en elle un nouveau tempérament impétueux, possédant de la « dynamite dans les veines ». Sa discographie est limitée et les archives radiophoniques peu nombreuses. Si le concerto de Beethoven dirigé par Mengelberg à Amsterdam pendant la guerre est connu, celui de Dvorak avec Schmidt-Isserstedt à Hambourg est inédit. Enfin, un court document sonore permet d’entendre la voix de l’artiste à la fin de sa vie.

Note : Disponible pour téléchargement sur i-tunes

Date parution : Septembre 2007 - Code barre : 3504129064013

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven, Dvorak
Interprète : Bustabo, Mengelberg, Schmidt-Isserstedt

Archives Gustav Mahler inédites

Tah 642-644 - Archives Gustav Mahler inédites

CD I : Symphonie n° 1 (Staatskapelle de Dresde, Direction J. Keilberth) 4.II.1950
CD II : Symphonie n° 2 (NWDR Sinfonieorchester, Direction Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt, solistes : Oda Balsborg et Sieglinde Wagner) 12.XI.1956
CD III : Symphonie n° 4 (Städtisches Opernhaus- und Museumsorchester, direction Bruno Walter, soliste : Annelies Kupper) 4.IX.1950

L’un des traits essentiels de la création mahlérienne réside dans le fait que le catalogue de ses œuvres ne comprend que des Lieder et des symphonies. Ce fait apparemment fortuit, est d’une importance capitale car c’est en effet la source vivifiante du lied qui a alimenté chez lui le fleuve symphonique et conditionné son évolution, tout au moins dans les quatre premières symphonies.
Les trois enregistrements publiés dans cet album, issus d’archives allemandes (Keilberth à Dresden, Schmidt-Isserstedt à Hambourg et Walter à Frankfurt) en seront l'illustration.

Date parution : Aout 2007 - Code barre : 3504129064211

Autres références :

Compositeur : Mahler
Interprète : Balsborg, Keilberth, Kupper, Schmidt-Isserstedt, Walter

Les Grands Interprètes : Ferenc Fricsay

Tah 635 - Les Grands Interprètes : Ferenc Fricsay

F. Schubert: Symphonie n° 8, D 9444 (ancien n° 9 (Sinfonieorchester des Hessischen Rundfunks - Enregistrement réalisé le 4.XI.1955))

Dans la phonographie de Fricsay il existe de très nombreux enregistrements inédits, en particulier cette symphonie de Schubert (« la Grande ») qui, en outre, est le seul document connu à ce jour et qui est publié pour la première fois. Fricsay dirige l’orchestre de la radio de Francfort lors d’un concert de novembre 1955.

Note : Il s'agit de l'unique enregistrement de cette oeuvre existant avec Fricsay.

Date parution : Aout 2007 - Code barre : 3504129063511

Autres références :

Compositeur : Schubert
Interprète : Fricsay

Inédits Eugen Jochum

Tah 638/639 - Inédits Eugen Jochum

CD I: A. Bruckner: Symphonie n° 8 en ut mineur
CD II: Antonin Dvorak: Concerto pour violoncelle et orchestre

Cet enregistrement de la 8ème symphonie de Bruckner est historique. D'autre part, le concerto de Dvorak est le seul enregistrement de cette oeuvre avec Jochum.

Date parution : Mai 2007 - Code barre : 3504129063818

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bruckner, Dvorak
Interprète : Mainardi, Jochum

Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli

Tah 631 - Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli

Schumann : Concerto pour piano en la mineur - Orchestra della Radiotelevisione della Svizzera Italiana, dir. Hermann Scherchen - Enegistrement Live réalisé à Lugano le 21.VI.1956 - Liszt : Concerto pour piano n° 1 - Orchestra del Maggio Musicale di Firenze, dir. Dimitri Mitropoulos - Enregistrement Live réalisé le 17.VI.1953 - Rachmaninov : Concerto pour piano n° 4 - Orchestra di Roma della RAI, dir. Franco Caracciolo - Enregistrement inédit réalisé le 12.V.1956 - Chopin : Valse, op. postume n° 4 (bis)

Outre le concerto de Schumann avec Scherchen et le concerto de Liszt avec Mitropoulos, ce disque nous donne à entendre Benedetti-Michelangeli dans une interprétation inédite du 4ème concerto de Rachmaninov où il est accompagné par le chef d’orchestre italien Caracciolo. Le livret a été écrit par le Professeur Clémenty, cardiologue de son état, qui l’opéra à la suite de son malaise cardiaque lors de son récital bordelais du 17 octobre 1988. Etant devenus amis, ses souvenirs laissent apparaître en filigrane un portrait souvent intime du célèbre pianiste.

Note : Pour le 15ème anniversaire de Tahra - On Tahra's Fifteenth anniversary

Date parution : Avril 2007 - Code barre : 3504129063115

Autres références :

Compositeur : Chopin, Liszt, Rachmaninov, Schumann
Interprète : Benedetti-Michelangeli

Monique Haas joue Mozart

Tahra 629 - Monique Haas joue Mozart

Concerto pour piano n° 21, KV 467 - Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden, dir. Hans Rosbaud - Enregistrement inédit réalisé le 9.XI.1956 - Concerto pour piano n° 23, KV 488
NDR Sinfonieorchester, direction Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt
Enregistrement inédit réalisé à la Musikhalle le 27.I.1956
Bonus : J. S. Bach : Concerto dans le goût italien, BWV 971
J. Ph. Rameau : Les Cyclopes - Enregistrements Decca réalisés en février 1946

Il y a vingt ans, en juin 1987, disparaissait Monique Haas, élève du fameux pédagogue Lazare-Lévy. Pour commémorer cet anniversaire, nous publions deux enregistrements mozartiens inédits où elle est accompagnée par les chefs d’orchestre Hans Rosbaud et Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt. En guise de complément, nous republions les premiers et rares enregistrements (Bach et Rameau), qu’elle réalisa à Londres en 1946 pour la firme Decca. Quant au livret, il est dû au pianiste américain Charles Timbrell, qui fut son élève. A cette occasion, il dresse un portrait de cette femme « sortie d’une publicité pour Dior… ». Le livret contient en plus la discographie de la pianiste.

Note : Pour le 15ème anniversaire de Tahra
Disponible en téléchargement sur i-tunes

Date parution : Avril 2007 - Code barre : 3504129062910

Autres références :

Compositeur : Mozart
Interprète : Haas, Rosbaud, Schmidt-Isserstedt

English
Tahra