Tahra catalog

204 references

Unissued Carl Schuricht : Schubert, Bruckner, Brahms

Tah 592/594 - Unissued Carl Schuricht : Schubert, Bruckner, Brahms

Schubert: Symphony Unfinished - Bruckner: Symphony No. 8 - Brahms: Deutsches Requiem (Elisabeth Grümmer, Soprano and Otto Wiener, Tenor - NDR Sinfonieorchester - Carl Schuricht
Although he lived to be 87, Carl Schuricht didn't leave a vast commercial discography. On the other hand, there are many Live recordings in various European radio archives, mainly German and Swiss. That's the case of the present three recordings, coming from the NDR Hamburg and released for the first time: Schubert's Unfinished, Bruckner's Eighth Symphony and Brahms' Deutsches Requiem with Elisabeth Grümmer and Otto Wiener.

Date : May, 2006 - Barre code : 3504129059217

Others references :

Composer : Brahms, Bruckner, Schubert
Artist : Schuricht

French Pianistes (#1): Nat, Lazare-Lévy, Meyer

Tah 591 - French Pianistes (#1): Nat, Lazare-Lévy, Meyer

Chopin: Sonata No. 2 (Yves Nat, Paris 1953), Schumann: Fantasiestücke, Debussy: Masques, Lazare-Lévy : Prelude No. 1 (Lazare-Lévy, 1955), Chabrier: 9 pieces for piano (Meyer, 1955)

This CD is the first of a series dedicated to some great pianists of the Twentieth century, and included two previously unissued recordings: the Chopin Second Piano sonata by Yves Nat, from the famous recital that he gave in 1953 at Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris, and Chabrier's nine Pièces pour Piano, by Marcelle Meyer, recorded by the Italian Radio in Rome in 1955. The Fantasiestücke by Schumann come from the broadcast of a public recital that Lazare-Lévy gave in Warsaw in February 1955 and existed for a long time only on a very rare Polish "Muza" LP. We have included as a bonus both sides of a very rare 78 Gramophone rpm of 1929, with Lazare-Lévy playing Debussy and a prelude that he composed himself.

Date : May, 2006 - Barre code : 3504129059118

Others references :

Composer : Chopin, Debussy, Schumann
Artist : Lazare-Lévy, Meyer, Nat

Bruno Walter in Paris (Mozart, Brahms, Mahler...)

Tah 587/589 - Bruno Walter in Paris (Mozart, Brahms, Mahler...)

Haydn: Symphony No. 96, Mozart: Symphony No. 38, Brahms: Symphony No. 2, Wagner: Siegfried Idyll, R. Strauss: Don Juan, Mahler: Symphony No. 4 - Orchestre National de France, Maria Stader, Soprano - Direction: Bruno Walter (Live May 5 and 12, 1955)
Bruno Walter only came rather late to France where he only gave a few concerts: for the first time in 1928, at a Mozart Festival and then after the war, in 1952, 1955 and 1956.
The present two concerts were given at Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in May 1955 and were recorded in excellent conditions by the French Radio and are released her complete, from the master tapes.
The programme includes some of the usual works from his repertoire, particularly the Brahms Second that was his preferred one, and the Mahler Fourth, performed by Maria Stader as soloist, whose «childlike» voice does wonders…

Date : May, 2006 - Barre code : 3504129058715

Others references :

Composer : Brahms, Haydn, Mahler, Mozart
Artist : Walter

Clara Haskil play Mozart: Piano Concertos No. 9, 20 and 24

Tah 584/585 - Clara Haskil play Mozart: Piano Concertos No. 9, 20 and 24

Mozart: Piano Concertos No. 9 [2 recording], 20 et 24 - Prades Festival Orchestra – Pablo Casals Orchestre National de France – Igor Markevitch Studio-Orchester Beromünster – Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt Orchestre National de France – André Cluytens
After Knappertsbusch and Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt and before Scherchen, this album is the third part of our edition dedicated to Mozart. It contains three concertos: the 9th (in two different performances, one of which with Pablo Casals), the 20th and 24th.
A critic of the Munich paper Merkur wrote in May 1952 that "she was sent on Earth to play Mozart". Except for Lili Kraus, there are few pianists of worldwide renown whose name is so tightly linked to that of Mozart as Clara Haskil (1895-1960). Based on an abundant discography, the almost automatic and almost exclusive equation "Clara Haskil = Mozart" imposes itself quite naturally and prevails in our collective memory and imagination forty-five years after Haskil's death. Karajan declared one day: «Listening to her play a Mozart concerto, you got the feeling that everything was naturally right – the tempo, nuances and the phrasing».

Date : May, 2006 - Barre code : 3504129058418

Others references :

Composer : Chostakovitch, Mozart
Artist : Haskil

In Memoriam Erich Kleiber: Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, Liszt

Tah 581 - In Memoriam Erich Kleiber: Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, Liszt

Mozart: Symphony "Linz" - (Sinfonieorchester des NWDR), Beethoven: Symphonies No. 4, 5 and 6, Dvorak: Cello Concerto - (Antonio Janigro / Kölner RSO), Liszt: Les Préludes (Phiharmonie Tchèque de Prague) Direction : Erich Kleiber
Fifty years ago, on January 27 1956, one of the greatest German conductors of the Twentieth century died in Zurich - Erich Kleiber, never to be forgotten for the unforgettable première of Berg's opera Wozzeck. And on that same day, two hundred years earlier, on January 27, 1756, a certain Mozart was also born….
This set is a tribute to Kleiber for whom Toscanini was always the model. Kleiber's insisted: "One must play only what is in the notes," the exact opposite of Furtwängler, who was always searching for what was behind the notes.
The booklet includes the conductor's complete discography, from his first Vox recordings in 1923 to the very last ones in the 1950s, made for the British label Decca. The set also includes also a very rare sound archive of Kleiber talking, as well as some brief remarks about Kleiber by Friedrich Schnapp, the famous German Radio sound engineer...

Date : May, 2006 - Barre code : 3504129058111

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven, Dvorak, Mozart
Artist : Kleiber

Marcelle Meyer: Tribute

Tah 579/580 - Marcelle Meyer: Tribute

Scarlatti : 2 sonatas - Mozart : 3 sonatas, fantasie and adagio - Beethoven : Piano concerto no. 5 (Orchestre de la Suisse Romande / Volkmar Andreae) - Chabrier : pièces pittoresques - Debussy : Etude pour les tierces - Petrassi : Toccata - Poulenc : 2 novelettes - Casella : 2 ricercare

After our first CD that was widely appreciated, we are releasing this CD-book in tribute of the great French pianist Marcelle Meyer with the kind support of her daughter. All recordings of this limited de-luxe edition includes come from the archives of the Radio Suisse Romande, including a rare Beethoven "Emperor" concerto. The booklet contains an extensive and unknown iconography (20 pages) as well as the complete discography of Marcelle Meyer established by René Quonten. (2 CD – Jewelbox)

Date : December, 2005 - Barre code : 3504129057916

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven, Chabrier, Mozart, Scarlatti
Artist : Meyer

Scherchen conduct Bach (Suites, Offrande Musicale)

West 3003/3004 - Scherchen conduct Bach (Suites, Offrande Musicale)

Bach: 4 Orchestersuite, Musical Offering - Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - Membres des Vents de Vienne - Hermann Scherchen

We are continuing our series of the Westminster recordings conducted by Hermann Scherchen licensed to us Deutsche Grammophon. This set is dedicated to a composer who was of capital importance for Scherchen, particularly as regards the Art of the Fugue: Jean-Sébastien Bach.
The interest of this set resides mainly in the Musical Offering that he orchestrated himself. After having played the orchestration that Roger Vuataz made of the Musical Offering on his request, dissatisfied, he made his own orchestration towards the end of his life. This stereo version was never reissued on CD to date.
We are adding the stereo version of the four orchestral suites, the mono recording of which was already released on CD by Universal Japan. It is very interesting to compare the mono and this stereo versions, since they present very great differences in their respective timings.

Date : October, 2005 - Barre code : 3504129300319

Others references :

Composer : Bach
Artist : Scherchen

Mozart : Die Entführung aus dem Serail / Schmidt-Isserstedt

Tah 575/577 - Mozart : Die Entführung aus dem Serail / Schmidt-Isserstedt

Die Entführung aus dem Serail: Teresa Stich-Randall, Rudolf Schock, Emmy Loose, Murray Dickie, etc. - Requiem: Lisa Della Casa, Maria von Ilosvay, Helmut Krebs, Gottlob Frick - Exsultate Jubilate: Maria Stader Direction : Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt, Orchestre de la NWDR
The following previously unissued recordings are conducted by Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt at the head of the orchestra of the NWDR of Hamburg, orchestra that he created in 1945, and are part of Tahra's Mozart edition. The opera Die Entführung aus dem Serail, with the remarkable soprano Teresa Stich-Randall, an excellent version of the famous Requiem with another remarkable Lisa Della Casa and last but not least, the Exsultate Jubilate with the great Mozart interpreter Maria Stader.

Date : October, 2005 - Barre code : 3504129057510

Others references :

Composer : Mozart
Artist : Schmidt-Isserstedt

Mozart / Knappertbusch : Le Nozze di Figaro

Tah 573/574 - Mozart / Knappertbusch : Le Nozze di Figaro

Mozart: Nozze di Figaro [Figaros Hochzeit] - Wiener Philharmoniker - Alfred Poell, Maria Reining, Elisabeth Rutgers, Dora Komarek, Paul Schöffler, Olga Levko-Antosch, Franz Normann, Anton Arnold, Victor Madin, Maria Schober, Hermann Gallos... - Hans Knappertbusch (Live recording of 15.X.1940, The Hague)

Tahra's Mozart edition begins with this previously un-issued performance of le nozze di Figaro recorded in Holland in October 1940 by the Dutch radio station KRO. Hans Knappertbusch conducts the Vienna Philharmonic and the cast of the Vienna Opera house. Although the recording is incomplete (sadly the end of the 4th act is missing), this is THE historic document: in fact it is the only recording of a Mozart opera by Knappertsbusch, and is an unique document of how Mozart's operas were sung in Vienna at the time.
Although the recording was made on acetates, its sound quality is excellent and thanks to extensive sound restoration the clarity, the presence and dynamics of the original document have been preserved.

Date : October, 2005 - Barre code : 3504129057312

Others references :

Composer : Mozart
Artist : Knappertsbusch

Archives Bruno Walter : Bruckner, Mahler

Tah 571/572 - Archives Bruno Walter : Bruckner, Mahler

Bruckner: Symphony No. 9 New York Philharmonic (27 XII 1953) - Mahler: Symphony No. 4 - Irmgard Seefried, soprano - Wiener Philharmoniker - Bruno Walter (1950)

Note : Not for sale in the USA

Date : August, 2005 - Barre code : 3504129057114

Others references :

Composer : Bruckner, Mahler
Artist : Walter

Français
Tahra

Catalogue Tahra

204 references

Inédits Carl Schuricht : Schubert, Bruckner, Brahms

Tah 592/594 - Inédits Carl Schuricht : Schubert, Bruckner, Brahms

Schubert : Symphonie inachevée - Bruckner : Symphonie n° 8 - Brahms : Un requiem allemand (Elisabeth Grümmer, soprano ; Otto Wiener, ténor - NDR Sinfonieorchester - Carl Schuricht
Bien qu'il ait vécu jusqu'à l'âge de 87 ans, Carl Schuricht n'a pas laissé de discographie commerciale pléthorique. Par contre, de très nombreuses archives sonores existent dans diverses radios européennes, principalement allemandes et suisses. C'est le cas des trois enregistrements publiés dans cet album, qui proviennent de la NDR Hambourg et qui sont inédits : Symphonie "Inachevée" de Schubert, Huitième Symphonie de Bruckner et Requiem Allemand de Brahms avec Elisabeth Grümmer et Otto Wiener.

Date parution : Mai 2006 - Code barre : 3504129059217

Autres références :

Compositeur : Brahms, Bruckner, Schubert
Interprčte : Schuricht

Pianistes français (1) : Nat, Lazare-Lévy, Meyer

Tah 591 - Pianistes français (1) : Nat, Lazare-Lévy, Meyer

Chopin : Sonate n° 2 (Yves Nat, Paris 1953), Schumann : Fantasiestücke, Debussy : Masques, Lazare-Lévy : Prélude n° 1 (Lazare-Lévy, 1955), Chabrier : 9 pièces pour piano (Meyer, 1955).

Ce CD, le premier d'une série dédiée à quelques grands pianistes du XXe siècle, comporte deux enregistrements inédits : la Deuxième sonate de Chopin par Yves Nat, issue du fameux récital de 1953 au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées de Paris, et neuf Pièces pour Piano de Chabrier, par Marcelle Meyer, dans un enregistrement réalisé par la radio italienne de Rome en 1955. Quant aux Fantasiestücke de Schumann, elles furent captées lors d'un récital public que Lazare-Lévy donna à Varsovie en février 1955 et publiées il y a fort longtemps, sur un rarissime LP polonais "Muza". En guise de Bonus, nous publions les deux faces d'un très rare 78t Gramophone, de 1929, Lazare-Lévy interprétant Debussy et un prélude de sa composition.

Date parution : Mai 2006 - Code barre : 3504129059118

Autres références :

Compositeur : Chopin, Debussy, Schumann
Interprčte : Lazare-Lévy, Meyer, Nat

Bruno Walter à Paris (Mozart, Brahms, Mahler...)

Tah 587/589 - Bruno Walter à Paris (Mozart, Brahms, Mahler...)

Haydn : Symphonie n° 96,Mozart : Symphonie n° 38,Brahms : Symphonie n° 2,Wagner : Siegfried Idyll,R. Strauss: Don Juan
Mahler: Symphonie n° 4 - Orchestre National de France Soprano: Maria Stader - Direction: Bruno Walter (Concerts des 5 et 12 mai 1955)
Bruno Walter a donné peu de concerts en France et est venu tardivement dans notre pays : pour la première fois en 1928, à l'occasion d'un festival Mozart et après la guerre, en 1952, 1955 et 1956.
Les deux concerts donnés au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées en mai 1955, furent enregistrés dans d'excellentes conditions par la Radio Française et sont publiés ici dans leur intégralité, à partir des bandes originales.
Le programme comporte des śuvres habituelles de son répertoire, en particulier la seconde symphonie de Brahms qui était sa préférée, et la Quatrième de Mahler, interprétée ici par Maria Stader en soliste, dont la voix «enfantine» fait merveille...

Date parution : Mai 2006 - Code barre : 3504129058715

Autres références :

Compositeur : Brahms, Haydn, Mahler, Mozart
Interprčte : Walter

Clara Haskil joue Mozart : Concertos pour piano n° 9, 20 et 24

Tah 584/585 - Clara Haskil joue Mozart : Concertos pour piano n° 9, 20 et 24

Mozart : Concertos pour piano n° 9 [deux versions], 20 et 24 - Orchestre du Festival de Prades – Pablo Casals Orchestre National de France – Igor Markevitch Studio-Orchester Beromünster – Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt Orchestre National de France – André Cluytens
Après Knappertsbusch et Schmidt-Isserstedt et avant Scherchen, cet album est le troisième volet de notre edition dédiée à Mozart et comporte trois concertos : les 9e (dans deux interprétations différentes dont l'une avec Pablo Casals), 20e et 24e. Un critique du Merkur Munichois écrivit en mai 1952 que « Clara Haskil fut envoyée sur terre pour jouer Mozart ». Exception faite de Lily Kraus, il est peu de pianistes de réputation mondiale dont le nom reste étroitement lié à Mozart. Appuyée par une discographie abondante, l'association quasi automatique Haskil-Mozart est celle qui s'impose spontanément à l'esprit et prévaut désormais dans la mémoire et l'imaginaire collectifs, quarante-cinq ans après la mort de l'artiste. Karajan déclara un jour : « En l'écoutant jouer un concerto de Mozart, on avait le sentiment que tout était naturellement juste – tempo, nuances, phrasé ».

Date parution : Mai 2006 - Code barre : 3504129058418

Autres références :

Compositeur : Chostakovitch, Mozart
Interprčte : Haskil

In Memoriam Erich Kleiber : Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, Liszt

Tah 581 - In Memoriam Erich Kleiber : Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, Liszt

Mozart : Symphonie "Linz" - (Sinfonieorchester des NWDR), Beethoven : Symphonies nos 4, 5 et 6 - (Concertgebouw Orkest, Sinfonieorchester des NWDR, Kölner RSO), Dvorak : Concerto pour violoncelle et orchestre - (Antonio Janigro / Kölner RSO), Liszt: Les Préludes (Phiharmonie Tchèque de Prague) Direction : Erich Kleiber
Il y a 50 ans, le 27 janvier 1956, mourait à Zurich l'un des plus grands chefs allemands du vingtième siècle, Erich Kleiber, l'inoubliable de l'opéra Wozzeck de Berg. Le même jour, deux cents ans plus tôt, naissait un certain Mozart...
Ce coffret est un hommage à celui qui eut pour modèle Toscanini. A la différence d'un Furtwängler qui cherchait inlassablement ce qui se cachait derrière les notes, le credo de Kleiber était aux antipodes: « On doit jouer ce qu'il y a dans les notes », ne cessa-t-il d'affirmer au long de sa vie.
Le livret comporte la discographie complète de l'artiste, depuis les premiers enregistrements Vox de 1923 jusqu'aux derniers, réalisés pour la firme anglaise Decca. Un rarissime document sonore nous permet d'entendre la voix de Kleiber. D'autre part, le célèbre ingénieur son de la Radio Allemande Friedrich Schnapp parle brièvement du chef d'orchestre.

Date parution : Mai 2006 - Code barre : 3504129058111

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven, Dvorak, Mozart
Interprčte : Kleiber

Marcelle Meyer : Hommage

Tah 579/580 - Marcelle Meyer : Hommage

Scarlatti : 2 sonates - Mozart : 3 sonates, une fantaisie et un adagio pour piano - Beethoven : Concerto pour piano n° 5 (Orchestre de la Suisse Romande Direction : Volkmar Andreae) - Chabrier : 2 extraits des pièces pittoresques - Debussy : Etude pour les tierces - Petrassi : Toccata - Poulenc : 2 novelettes - Casella : 2 ricercare

Après un premier CD unanimement apprécié, nous publions ce CD-book en hommage à la grande pianiste française Marcelle Meyer avec le soutien de sa fille. Cette édition de luxe à tirage limité ne comporte que des enregistrements inédits provenant des archives de la Radio Suisse Romande, dont un rare concerto «Empereur» de Beethoven. Il comprend également une riche et inédite iconographie (20 pages) ainsi que la discographie complète de l'artiste établie par René Quonten. (2 CD – Jewelbox)

Date parution : Decembre 2005 - Code barre : 3504129057916

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven, Chabrier, Mozart, Scarlatti
Interprčte : Meyer

Bach par Scherchen (Suites, Offrande Musicale)

West 3003/3004 - Bach par Scherchen (Suites, Offrande Musicale)

Bach : 4 Suites pour orchestre, L'Offrande Musicale - Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - Membres des Vents de Vienne - Direction: Hermann Scherchen

Nous poursuivons, sous licence Deutsche Grammophon, notre série de réédition d'enregistrements Westminster dirigés par Hermann Scherchen. Ce coffret est dédié à un compositeur qui eut une importance capitale dans sa vie, en particulier pour ce qui concerne l'Art de la Fugue: Jean-Sébastien Bach.
L'intérêt de cet album réside avant tout dans l'orchestration que Scherchen fit de l'Offrande Musicale. Après avoir joué l'orchestration que Roger Vuataz fit à sa demande, et qui ne le satisfit pas, il réalisa à la fin de sa vie sa propre instrumentation. Cette version stéréophonique n'a jamais été éditée en CD à ce jour.
Nous ajoutons la version stéréophonique des quatre suites pour orchestre, l'enregistrement mono ayant été publié par Universal Japon. Il est très intéressant de comparer ces deux versions car il existe des différences très importantes dans leurs minutages respectifs.

Date parution : Octobre 2005 - Code barre : 3504129300319

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bach
Interprčte : Scherchen

Mozart : Enlèvement au sérail / Schmidt-Isserstedt

Tah 575/577 - Mozart : Enlèvement au sérail / Schmidt-Isserstedt

Enlèvement au sérail : Teresa Stich-Randall, Rudolf Schock, Emmy Loose, Murray Dickie, etc. (18-24.X.1954) - Requiem : Lisa Della Casa, Maria von Ilosvay, Helmut Krebs, Gottlob Frick (31.III.1952) - Exsultate Jubilate : Maria Stader (14.IV.1953) Direction : Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt, Orchestre de la NWDR
Ces trois enregistrements inédits, dirigés par Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt à la tête de l'orchestre de la NWDR de Hambourg, qu'il créa en 1945, sont la seconde étape de l'édition Mozart de Tahra. D'abord, l'opéra l'enlèvement au sérail, avec la présence de la remarquable soprano Teresa Stich-Randall; puis une excellente version du célèbre Requiem avec la non moins remarquable Lisa Della Casa; enfin l'Exsultate Jubilate avec la grande mozartienne Maria Stader.

Date parution : Octobre 2005 - Code barre : 3504129057510

Autres références :

Compositeur : Mozart
Interprčte : Schmidt-Isserstedt

Mozart / Knappertbusch : Le Nozze di Figaro

Tah 573/574 - Mozart / Knappertbusch : Le Nozze di Figaro

Mozart : Le Nozze di Figaro [Figaros Hochzeit] - Orchestre Philharmonique de Vienne - Solistes : Alfred Poell, Maria Reining, Elisabeth Rutgers, Dora Komarek, Paul Schöffler, Olga Levko-Antosch, Franz Normann, Anton Arnold, Victor Madin, Maria Schober, Hermann Gallos - Direction : Hans Knappertbusch (Concert du 15.X.1940 à la Haye)

L'édition Mozart de Tahra débute par cet enregistrement inédit des Noces de Figaro, réalisé en Hollande en octobre 1940, par la radio KRO, sous la direction de Hans Knappertbusch à la tête de la Philharmonie de Vienne et avec la troupe de l'Opéra de Vienne. Même si elle est incomplète (la fin du 4e acte n'existe plus), cette archive est historique: c'est le seul enregistrement d'un opéra de Mozart que Knappertsbusch nous a laissé et c'est surtout un témoignage de la façon dont on chantait Mozart à Vienne à cette époque.
Même s'il fut réalisé sur acétates, la qualité sonore de cet enregistrement est excellente, et une importante restauration sonore a permis de conserver la clarté, la présence et la dynamique du document original.

Date parution : Octobre 2005 - Code barre : 3504129057312

Autres références :

Compositeur : Mozart
Interprčte : Knappertsbusch

Archives Bruno Walter : Bruckner, Mahler

Tah 571/572 - Archives Bruno Walter : Bruckner, Mahler

Bruckner : Symphonie n° 9 - New York Philharmonic (27 XII 1953) - Mahler : Symphonie n° 4 en sol majeur - Irmgard Seefried, soprano Wiener Philharmoniker - Bruno Walter (enregistrement : 1950)

Note : Diapason d'Or
Not for sale in the USA

Date parution : Aout 2005 - Code barre : 3504129057114

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bruckner, Mahler
Interprčte : Walter

English
Tahra