Artist : Scherchen

28 references

Scherchen conducts Mahler

Tah 716/718 - Scherchen conducts Mahler

Download

CD I: Symphony No. 1, "Titan" (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954)
CD II: Symphony No. 5 (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - VII.1953)
CD III: Symphony No. 7, "Night Song" (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - VII.1953)

Hermann Scherchen was generally considered as a «Pioneer of avant-garde music», but to limit his activity to this domain is reductive since at least three important composers accompanied him along his entire life: Bach, Schoenberg and Mahler, whose works he interpreted over 54 years, from his first concert in Berlin (the Mahler Fifth on 4 February 1914), until his last Mahler concert in Bremen (again the Fifth, on 9 May 1966).
He performed all Mahler symphonies, worldwide, totaling in all 89 performances with always the Fifth symphony at the head of the list (22 times).

Date : March, 2011 - Barre code : 3504129071615

Others references :

Composer : Mahler
Artist : Scherchen

Hermann Scherchen conducts Haydn

Tah 680/681 - Hermann Scherchen conducts Haydn

Download

CD I: Symphony No. 45, "Farewell Symphony" (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - VII.1958) - Symphony No. 48, "Maria Theresia" (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - XII.1950) - Symphony No. 92, "Oxford" (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - XII.1950) - CD II: Symphony No. 94, "Mit dem Paukenschlag" (Municipal Orchestra of Winterthur - 27.V.1942) - Symphony No. 100, "Military" (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954) - Symphony No. 101, "The Clock" (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - VII.1951)

The year 2009 is the two-hundredth anniversary of Haydn’s death. Among the greatest interpreters of this composer is certainly Hermann Scherchen who recorded 21 of his symphonies, including all the London Symphonies (it was a premiere on disc), mainly for the American label Westminster. A number of these recordings have become famous: the 100th (the critics defined this version as eccentric and ingenious), the 88th and so forth…
The interest of this symphony is many-fold: in fact in the slow movement, Scherchen adopts a very slow tempo, so slow that it takes him 4 minutes more than Furtwängler who certainly wasn't a fast conductor. Another “sensation”: The Farewell Symphony in which, in the last movement, the musicians leave the stage one after the other, saying out aloud “Auf Wiedersehen” while the sound of the orchestra also changes progressively becoming thinner and thinner.

Date : November, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129068011

Others references :

Composer : Haydn
Artist : Scherchen

Scherchen conducts the 9 Beethoven Symphonies Vol. III

Tah 677 - Scherchen conducts the 9 Beethoven Symphonies Vol. III

Download

CD I: Symphony n° 9, op. 125 in D minor, "Choral" Symphony
Magda Laszlo (soprano) - Hilde Roessl-Majdan (contralto) - Petre Munteanu (tenor) - Richard Standen (bass) - Vienna State Opera Orchestra - Recorded in September 1953

Herman Scherchen discovered the world of Beethoven at the age of fourteen. Like Bach, Mahler and Schoenberg, Beethoven accompanied Scherchen throughout his career. He conducted his symphonies over 235 times. Between 1951 and 1954 he made the mono recordings of all nine symphonies for the US label Westminster, either in Vienna with the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, the Symphonic Orchestra and in London with Beecham’s excellent Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
This cycle was released in Japan in 1999 but not in the best conditions: in fact, the pitch of six symphonies wasn’t absolutely right. This series includes some jewels: the First Symphony, the Second, the Seventh (a masterwork), the Eighth and the Ninth.
Although his performance of Eroica is somewhat apart from the colossal conception behind it, some passages are just superb (for ex. the coda of the first movement, scherzo).

Press review
(...) dans les années 1950, spirituel était synonyme de Furtwängler, et Scherchen navigue aux antipodes. Mais, avec le recul, c'est au contraire l'esprit seul qui nous emporte à travers ces cinq heures et demie de pure exaltation. (...) Un sublime sans larmes, même dans l'Adagio de la 9e. Le plaisir violent qu'on en éprouve refuse la contemplation. Sans cesse provoquée, l'oreille agit. Et cette action vaut de l'or. (Diapason, Ivan A. Alexandre)

Note : DIAPASON D'OR

Date : August, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129067717

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Laszlo, Munteanu, Roessl-Majdan, Standen, Scherchen

Scherchen conducts the 9 Beethoven Symphonies - Vol. I

Tah 673/674 - Scherchen conducts the 9 Beethoven Symphonies - Vol. I

Download

CD I: Symphony No. 1, op. 21 in C major (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - VI.1954) - Symphony No. 3, op. 55 in E flat major, Eroica (Vienna Symphonic Orchestra - I.1951)
CD II: Symphony No. 2, op. 36 in D major - Symphony No. 4, op. 60 in B flat major (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954)

Herman Scherchen discovered the world of Beethoven at the age of fourteen. Like Bach, Mahler and Schoenberg, Beethoven accompanied Scherchen throughout his career. He conducted his symphonies over 235 times. Between 1951 and 1954 he made the mono recordings of all nine symphonies for the US label Westminster, either in Vienna with the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, the Symphonic Orchestra and in London with Beechamís excellent Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
This cycle was released in Japan in 1999 but not in the best conditions: in fact, the pitch of six symphonies wasnít absolutely right. This series includes some jewels: the First Symphony, the Second, the Seventh (a masterwork), the Eighth and the Ninth.
Although his performance of Eroica is somewhat apart from the colossal conception behind it, some passages are just superb (for ex. the coda of the first movement, scherzo).

Press review
Chaque nouvelle écoute le confirme, le Beethoven de Scherchen est une expérience sans exempple ni postérité, une nourriture complète allégée de toute sucrerie, une action de grâces, un combat.

Note : DIAPASON D'OR

Date : August, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129067311

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Scherchen

Scherchen conducts the 9 Beethoven Symphonies Vol. II

Tah 675/676 - Scherchen conducts the 9 Beethoven Symphonies Vol. II

CD I: Symphony No. 5, op. 67 in C minor(Royal Philhjarmonic Orchestra - IX.1954) - Symphony No. 6, op. 68 in F major, "Pastorale" (Vienna State Opera Orchestra - VII.1951)
CD II: Symphony No. 7, op. 92 in A major (Vienna State Opera Orchestra (VII.1951) - Symphony No. 8, op. 93 in F major (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954)

Herman Scherchen discovered the world of Beethoven at the age of fourteen. Like Bach, Mahler and Schoenberg, Beethoven accompanied Scherchen throughout his career. He conducted his symphonies over 235 times. Between 1951 and 1954 he made the mono recordings of all nine symphonies for the US label Westminster, either in Vienna with the Vienna State Opera Orchestra, the Symphonic Orchestra and in London with Beechamís excellent Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
This cycle was released in Japan in 1999 but not in the best conditions: in fact, the pitch of six symphonies wasnít absolutely right. This series includes some jewels: the First Symphony, the Second, the Seventh (a masterwork), the Eighth and the Ninth.
Although his performance of Eroica is somewhat apart from the colossal conception behind it, some passages are just superb (for ex. the coda of the first movement, scherzo).

Press review
Question tempo, il est vrai que Scherchen favorise la vitesse (...). Le tempo résulte de la passion propre à chaque mouvement et assure la tension vitale, rien d'autre. C'est pourquoi, à la différence de presque tous ses contemporains, (...) Scherchen tombe si souvent d'accord avec les indications métronomiques publiées par le compositeur en 1817.

Note : DIAPASON D'OR

Date : August, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129067519

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Scherchen

ReminderWestminster Archives - Scherchen - Vol. VI

West 3011/12 - Westminster Archives - Scherchen - Vol. VI

CD I: Mahler: Kindertotenlieder - Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (Lucretia West, contralto - Vienna State Opera Orchestra - recorded June 1958) - Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsodies Hongroises nos. 1 & 2
CD II: Liszt : Hungarian Rhapsodies nos. 3 - 6 - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - recorded September 1954 - Saint-Saëns: The Carnival of the Animals, a zoological fantasy - Speaker: Gary Moore - Josef & Grete Dichler, piano - Vienna State Opera Orchestra (recorded 20 & 21.V.1957)

This is the sixth and last volume of the Westminster Scherchen edition lincesed by DGG, and it includes only recordings made between 1954 and 1958 and never released on CD until today: Mahler (Kindertotenlieder and Lieder eines Fahrenden Gesellen with Lucretia West), Liszt (the six Romanian Rhapsodies with the Royal Philharmonic) and Saint-Saëns (Carnaval des animaux, the original point of this recording residing in the fact that Westminster recorded in a zoo of New York the characteristic screams of the animals).

Press review
Mahler's music has always been a constant presence in Scherchen programming, and this CD witnesses Scherchen interest in his music. The German conductor gives a sharp and exasperated rendering of the Kindertotenlieder. Unfortunatelly the alto Lucretia West is not at the same level, and her singing is far from being perfect. Liszt Hungarian Rapsodies are well performed, with bright sonorities by a responsive orchestra. Scherchen choses to perform Saint-Saens Carnival of the Animals interpolating almost useless texts in between the musical pieces and making hear the true sounds of the animals described by the music. Neverthless this, Scherchen conducting is energetic and precise. (pour l'article entier, voir la revue italienne www.operaclick.com)

Date : April, 2009 - Barre code : 3504129301118

Others references :

Composer : Liszt, Mahler, Saint-SaŽns
Artist : Dichler, Moore, West, Scherchen

ReminderThe Art of Aida Stucki

Tah 663 - The Art of Aida Stucki

Download

Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin concerto, op. 61 - Das Studio-Orchester Beromünster (Zürich) - Conductor: Hermann Scherchen - Violin: Aida Stucki - First release of the recording of 30.XII.1949
Johann Sebastian Bach (Bonus): Violin concerto BWV 1042 - Vienna State Opera Orchestra - Conductor: Hermann Scherchen - Violin: Walter Barylli - Recorded July 1953

The present CD has a double interest: on the one hand, (re)descover the Swiss violinist Aida Stucki, a pupil of Carl Fleschí and herself professor of Anne Sophie Mutte, and on the other, listen for the first time to Hermann Scherchen conducting a grand violin concerto of the classical repertoire, i.e. the Beethoven violin concerto. This recording was made at the end of 1949 and comes from Mrs. Stuckiís private archive, but it must be considered as a «document» due to the many technical problems of the 78 rpms all of which couldnít be eradicated despite extensive restoration.

Note : Aida Stucki's recognition as an artist is both inevitable and overdue. Her artistry is a timeless inspiration. Her interpretation incorporates bewitching sound, personal instinct coupled with great insight to the wishes of the composer. I admire this great violinist deeply. This recording is a must for any string player and music lover.
Anne Sophie Mutter

Available for downloading on I-Tunes. Booklet available in PDF format on request.

Date : November, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129066314

Others references :

Composer : Bach, Beethoven
Artist : Barylli, Stucki, Scherchen

Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

West 3007-3008 - Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

CD I: F. LISZT: Piano Concerto No. 1, in E flat major - Piano Concerto No. 2, in A major - B. BARTOK : Piano Concerto No. 2 (1930)
CD II : B. BARTOK : Piano Concerto No. 3 (1945) - S. RACHMANINOV : Piano Concerto No. 2, op. 18 in C minor /
Vienna State Opera Orchestra -
Conductor: Hermann Scherchen & Piano: Edith Farnadi
Recordings made in July 1953 (Bartok) and in October 1952 (Rachmaninov). The recording dates of the Liszt concertos are unknown but might be October 1951.

Date : April, 2008 - Barre code : 3504129300715

Others references :

Composer : Bach, Liszt, Rachmaninov
Artist : Farnadi, Scherchen

Hermann Scherchen conducts Beethoven

West 3009-10 - Hermann Scherchen conducts Beethoven

CD I: L. van Beethoven: Piano Concert No. 3, op. 37 (soloist: Paul Badura-Skoda - Stereo recording of July 1958) - Overtures Leonore II and III (recorded 1951)
CD II: L. Van Beethoven: Egmont, stage music (soloist: Magda Laszlo, narrator: Fred Liewehr - Vienna State Opera Orchestra - Recorded July 1953) - Great Fugue, op. 133 (English Baroque Orchestra - Recorded 14.IX.1954)

This fifth volume of the Scherchen-Westminster archives, licensed by Deutsche Grammophon, contains only Beethoven works recorded between 1951 and 1958. First, the Third Piano concerto which is the only recording of the five concertos with the young 30 year-old Badura-Skoda. Then the famous overtures Leonore II and III as well as the stage music of Egmont with the soprano Magda Laszlo. Last but not least, the Great Fugue in Felix Weingartner's transcription. This recording is not with the Lugano RTSI orchestra already released by Tahra, but with the English Baroque Orchestra in London, recorded in September 1954. All four recordings have never been issued on CD until now.

Note : May be downloaded on i-tunes

Date : October, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129300913

Others references :

Composer : Beethoven
Artist : Badura-Skoda, Laszlo, Liewehr, Scherchen

Johann Sebastian Bach - Mass in B minor

Tah 618/619 - Johann Sebastian Bach - Mass in B minor

Johann Sebastian Bach - Mass in B Minor, BWV 232 (Hohe Messe) - Soloists: Emmy Loose (Soprano I), Hilde Ceska (Soprano II), Gertrud Burgsthaler-Schuster (Contralto), Anton Dermota (Tenor), Alfred Poell (Bass), Anton Heiller (Organ) - Wiener Symphoniker, Wiener Akademie Kammerchor - Conductor: Hermann Scherchen - Recorded in October 1950, in the Mozartsaal in Vienna

In 1950 Hermann Scherchen signed with the American label Westminster and its producer Jimmy Grayson a contract for a series of recordings to be made in Vienna and in London. The first recording was made in October of that same year: The Bach Mass in B minor, a monument of Western music. In 1952, the Académie Charles Cros awarded this recording a Grand Prix du Disque. Scherchen made some hundred recordings with Westminster until its bankruptcy in 1964.

Note : Available for downloading on i-tunes

Date : January, 2007 - Barre code : 3504129061814

Others references :

Composer : Bach
Artist : Scherchen

FranÁais
Tahra

Interprète : Scherchen

28 references

Mahler par Scherchen

Tah 716/718 - Mahler par Scherchen

Télécharger

CD I: Symphonie n° 1, "Titan" (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954)
CD II: Symphonie n° 5 (Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - VII.1953)
CD III: Symphonie n° 7, "Chant de la nuit" (Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - VII.1953)

Si Hermann Scherchen fut baptisé « Pionnier de l’avant-garde », limiter son activité à ce domaine est très réducteur car au moins trois importants compositeurs furent ses compagnons de route : Bach, Schoenberg et Mahler, dont il interpréta les œuvres durant 54 ans depuis le premier concert à Berlin (Cinquième le 4 février 1914), jusqu’à l’ultime à Bremen (de nouveau la Cinquième, le 9 mai 1966).
Il aura joué toutes les symphonies dans le monde entier, totalisant 89 interprétations, la primauté revenant à la Cinquième (22 fois).

Date parution : Mars 2011 - Code barre : 3504129071615

Autres références :

Compositeur : Mahler
Interprète : Scherchen

Hermann Scherchen dirige Haydn

Tah 680/681 - Hermann Scherchen dirige Haydn

Télécharger

CD I : Symphonie n° 45, "Les Adieux" (Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - VII.1958) - Symphonie n° 48, "Maria Theresia" (Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - XII.1950) - Symphonie n° 92, "Oxford" (Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - XII.1950) - CD II : Symphonie n° 94, "Mit dem Paukenschlag" (Orchestre Municipal de Winterthur - 27.V.1942) - Symphonie n° 100, "Militaire" (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954) - Symphonie n° 101, "L'Horloge" (Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - VII.1951)

2009 marque le deux-centième anniversaire de la mort de Haydn. Parmi les grands interprètes de ce compositeur, figure Hermann Scherchen qui enregistra 21 symphonies, dont une intégrale des Londoniennes (c’était une première au disque), principalement pour la firme américaine Westminster. Plusieurs enregistrements sont restés célèbres : la 100e (la critique parla de version excentrique et géniale), la 88e…
Cette symphonie est intéressante à plus d’un titre : en effet, dans le mouvement lent, Scherchen adopte un tempo si lent qu’il lui faut 4 minutes de plus que Furtwängler qui n’était pourtant pas un chef rapide. Autre « sensation » : la Symphonie des Adieux où, dans le dernier mouvement, les musiciens quittent la scène les uns après les autres, disant à haute voix « Auf Wiedersehen », modifiant ainsi progressivement le son de l’orchestre.

Date parution : Novembre 2009 - Code barre : 3504129068011

Autres références :

Compositeur : Haydn
Interprète : Scherchen

Scherchen dirige les 9 symphonies de Beethoven Vol. III

Tah 677 - Scherchen dirige les 9 symphonies de Beethoven Vol. III

Télécharger

CD I : Symphonie n° 9, op. 125 en ré mineur, "Chorale"
Magda Laszlo (soprano) - Hilde Roessl-Majdan (contralto) - Petre Munteanu (ténor) - Richard Standen (basse) - Orchestre de l'Opéra d'Etat de Vienne - Enregistrement réalisé en septembre 1953

Herman Scherchen découvrit l’univers de Beethoven à l’âge de 14 ans. Au même titre que Bach, Mahler ou Schoenberg, ce compositeur aura été un compagnon de route au long de sa carrière. Il interpréta ses symphonies plus de 235 fois. De 1951 à 1954 il les enregistra en mono pour la firme américaine Westminster, soit à Vienne avec l’Orchestre de l’Opéra et l’Orchestre Symphonique, soit à Londres avec l’excellent orchestre de Beecham, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Ce cycle fut publié au Japon en 1999 mais dans des conditions pas totalement satisfaisantes : en effet, la tonalité de six symphonies n’était pas rigoureusement exacte. Le « sommet » de cet intégrale est représenté par d’incontestables réussites : les Première, Seconde, Septième (magistrale), Huitième et Neuvième.
Même si sa version de l’Eroica est quelque peu en deçà de cette conception colossale, certains passages sont superbes (coda du premier mouvement, scherzo).

Ce qu'en dit la presse
(...) dans les années 1950, spirituel était synonyme de Furtwängler, et Scherchen navigue aux antipodes. Mais, avec le recul, c'est au contraire l'esprit seul qui nous emporte à travers ces cinq heures et demie de pure exaltation. (...) Un sublime sans larmes, même dans l'Adagio de la 9e. Le plaisir violent qu'on en éprouve refuse la contemplation. Sans cesse provoquée, l'oreille agit. Et cette action vaut de l'or. (Diapason, Ivan A. Alexandre)

Note : DIAPASON D'OR

Date parution : Aout 2009 - Code barre : 3504129067717

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Laszlo, Munteanu, Roessl-Majdan, Standen, Scherchen

Scherchen dirige les 9 Symphonies de Beethoven - Vol. I

Tah 673/674 - Scherchen dirige les 9 Symphonies de Beethoven - Vol. I

Télécharger

CD I : Symphonie n° 1, op. 21 en ut majeur (Orchestre de l'Opéra d'Etat de Vienne - VI.1954) - Symphonie n° 3, op. 55 en mi bémol majeur, Eroica (Orchestre Symphonique de Vienne - I.1951)
CD II : Symphonie n° 2, op. 36 en ré majeur - Symphonie n° 4, op. 60 en si bémol majeur (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954)

Herman Scherchen découvrit l’univers de Beethoven à l’âge de 14 ans. Au même titre que Bach, Mahler ou Schoenberg, ce compositeur aura été un compagnon de route au long de sa carrière. Il interpréta ses symphonies plus de 235 fois. De 1951 à 1954 il les enregistra en mono pour la firme américaine Westminster, soit à Vienne avec l’Orchestre de l’Opéra et l’Orchestre Symphonique, soit à Londres avec l’excellent orchestre de Beecham, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Ce cycle fut publié au Japon en 1999 mais dans des conditions pas totalement satisfaisantes : en effet, la tonalité de six symphonies n’était pas rigoureusement exacte. Le « sommet » de cet intégrale est représenté par d’incontestables réussites : les Première, Seconde, Septième (magistrale), Huitième et Neuvième.
Même si sa version de l’Eroica est quelque peu en deçà de cette conception colossale, certains passages sont superbes (coda du premier mouvement, scherzo).

Ce qu'en dit la presse
Chaque nouvelle écoute le confirme, le Beethoven de Scherchen est une expérience sans exempple ni postérité, une nourriture complète allégée de toute sucrerie, une action de grâces, un combat.

Note : DIAPASON D'OR

Date parution : Aout 2009 - Code barre : 3504129067311

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Scherchen

Scherchen dirige les 9 Symphonies de Beethoven Vol. II

Tah 675/676 - Scherchen dirige les 9 Symphonies de Beethoven Vol. II

CD I : Symphonie n° 5, op. 67 en ut mineur (Royal Philhjarmonic Orchestra - IX.1954) - Symphonie n° 6, op. 68 en fa majeur, "Pastorale" (Orchestre de l'Opéra d'Etat de Vienne - VII.1951)
CD II : Symphonie n° 7, op. 92 en la majeur (Orchestre de l'Opéra d'Etat de Vienne (VII.1951) - Symphonie n° 8, op. 93 en fa majeur (Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - IX.1954)

Herman Scherchen découvrit l’univers de Beethoven à l’âge de 14 ans. Au même titre que Bach, Mahler ou Schoenberg, ce compositeur aura été un compagnon de route au long de sa carrière. Il interpréta ses symphonies plus de 235 fois. De 1951 à 1954 il les enregistra en mono pour la firme américaine Westminster, soit à Vienne avec l’Orchestre de l’Opéra et l’Orchestre Symphonique, soit à Londres avec l’excellent orchestre de Beecham, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
Ce cycle fut publié au Japon en 1999 mais dans des conditions pas totalement satisfaisantes : en effet, la tonalité de six symphonies n’était pas rigoureusement exacte. Le « sommet » de cet intégrale est représenté par d’incontestables réussites : les Première, Seconde, Septième (magistrale), Huitième et Neuvième.
Même si sa version de l’Eroica est quelque peu en deçà de cette conception colossale, certains passages sont superbes (coda du premier mouvement, scherzo).

Ce qu'en dit la presse
Question tempo, il est vrai que Scherchen favorise la vitesse (...). Le tempo résulte de la passion propre à chaque mouvement et assure la tension vitale, rien d'autre. C'est pourquoi, à la différence de presque tous ses contemporains, (...) Scherchen tombe si souvent d'accord avec les indications métronomiques publiées par le compositeur en 1817.

Note : DIAPASON D'OR

Date parution : Aout 2009 - Code barre : 3504129067519

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Scherchen

RappelArchives Westminster - Scherchen - Vol. VI

West 3011/12 - Archives Westminster - Scherchen - Vol. VI

CD I : Mahler: Kindertotenlieder - Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen (Lucretia West, contralto - Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne - enregistrement de juin 1958) - Liszt : Rapsodies Hongroises nos. 1 & 2
CD II : Liszt : Rapsodies Hongroises nos. 3 à 6 - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - enregistrement de septembre 1954 - Saint-Saëns : le Carnaval des Animaux, fantaisie zoologique - Récitant : Gary Moore - Josef et Grete Dichler, piano - Orchestre de l'Opéra de Vienne (enregistrement des 20 & 21.V.1957)

Ce sixième et dernier volume de l'édition Scherchen Westminster sous licence DGG, ne comporte que des enregistrements réalisés entre 1954 et 1958 et jamais publiés en CD à ce jour : Mahler (Kindertotenlieder et Lieder eines Fahrenden Gesellen avec Lucretia West), Liszt (les six rapsodies hongroises avec le Royal Philharmonic) et Saint-Saëns (le Carnaval des animaux, l'originalité de cet enregistrement résidant dans le fait que Westminster capta dans un zoo de New York les cris caractéristiques des animaux).

Ce qu'en dit la presse
Mahler's music has always been a constant presence in Scherchen programming, and this CD witnesses Scherchen interest in his music. The German conductor gives a sharp and exasperated rendering of the Kindertotenlieder. Unfortunatelly the alto Lucretia West is not at the same level, and her singing is far from being perfect. Liszt Hungarian Rapsodies are well performed, with bright sonorities by a responsive orchestra. Scherchen choses to perform Saint-Saens Carnival of the Animals interpolating almost useless texts in between the musical pieces and making hear the true sounds of the animals described by the music. Neverthless this, Scherchen conducting is energetic and precise. (pour l'article entier, voir la revue italienne www.operaclick.com)

Date parution : Avril 2009 - Code barre : 3504129301118

Autres références :

Compositeur : Liszt, Mahler, Saint-Saëns
Interprète : Dichler, Moore, West, Scherchen

RappelL'Art de Aida Stucki

Tah 663 - L'Art de Aida Stucki

Télécharger

Ludwig van Beethoven : Concerto pour violon, op. 61 - Das Studio-Orchester Beromünster (Zürich) - Direction : Hermann Scherchen - Violon : Aida Stucki -Enregistrement inédit du 30.XII.1949
Johann Sebastian Bach (Bonus) : Concerto pour violon BWV 1042 - Orchestre de l'Opéra d'Etat de Vienne - Direction : Hermann Scherchen - Violon : Walter Barylli - Enregistrement de juillet 1953

Ce disque a un double intérêt : (re)découvrir la violoniste suisse Aida Stucki, élève de Carl Flesch et professeur d’Anne Sophie Mutter mais aussi, entendre pour la première fois un grand concerto pour violon du répertoire classique sous la direction de Hermann Scherchen, celui de Beethoven. Cet enregistrement, réalisé à la fin de 1949 et issu de l’archive privée de Mme Stucki, doit néanmoins être considéré comme un « document » en raison des nombreux problèmes techniques inhérents aux acétates 78 tours qui malgré une importante restauration, n’ont pu être totalement éradiqués.

Note : La reconnaissance d'Aida Stucki en tant qu'artiste est à la fois inévitable et tardive. Son art est faite d'une grande compréhension des souhaits du compositeur. J'ai une profonde admiration pour cette grande violoniste. Cet enregistrement est un must pour tout musicien jouant d'un instrument à cordes et pour tout mélomane.
Anne Sophie Mutter

Disponible pour téléchargement sur I-Tunes. Livret disponible en format PDF.

Date parution : Novembre 2008 - Code barre : 3504129066314

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bach, Beethoven
Interprète : Barylli, Stucki, Scherchen

Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

West 3007-3008 - Edith Farnadi & Hermann Scherchen

CD I : F. LISZT : Concerto pour piano n° 1, en mi bémol majeur - Concerto pour piano n° 2, en la majeur - B. BARTOK : Concerto pour piano n° 2 (1930)
CD II : B. BARTOK : Concerto pour piano n° 3 (1945) - S. RACHMANINOV : Concerto pour piano n° 2, op. 18 en ut mineur /
Orchestre de l’Opéra d'Etat de Vienne
Direction : Hermann Scherchen & Piano : Edith Farnadi
Enregistrements réalisés en juillet 1953 (Bartok), et en octobre 1952 (Rachmaninov). La date d’enregistrement des concertos de Liszt n’est pas connue mais pourrait se situer en octobre 1951.

Date parution : Avril 2008 - Code barre : 3504129300715

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bach, Liszt, Rachmaninov
Interprète : Farnadi, Scherchen

Hermann Scherchen dirige Beethoven

West 3009-10 - Hermann Scherchen dirige Beethoven

CD I : L. van Beethoven : Concert pour piano n° 3, op. 37 (soliste : Paul Badura-Skoda - Enregistrement stéréo de juillet 1958) - Ouvertures Leonore II et III (enregistrements 1951)
CD II: L. Van Beethoven : Egmont, musique de scène (soliste : Magda Laszlo, récitant : Fred Liewehr - Orchestra de l'Opéra de Vienne - Enregistrement juillet 1953) - Grande Fugue, op. 133 (English Baroque Orchestra - Enregistrement 14.IX.1954)

Ce cinquième volume des archives Scherchen-Westminster, publiées sous licence Deutsche Grammophon, ne comporte que des enregistrements d'œuvres beethoveniennes, réalisés entre 1951 et 1958. D'abord, le troisième concerto pour piano qui est l'unique enregistrement de l'intégrale avec le jeune Badura-Skoda âgé de 30 ans. Puis les célèbres ouvertures Leonore II et III ainsi que la musique de scène d'Egmont, avec la soprano Magda Laszlo. Enfin, la Grande Fugue dans la transcription de Felix Weingartner. Il s'agit du rare enregistrement, non pas avec l'orchestre de la RTSI Lugano que nous avons publié précédemment, mais avec l'English Baroque Orchestra à Londres, en septembre 1954. Ces quatre enregistrements n'ont jamais été publiés en CD à ce jour.

Note : Disponible en téléchargement sur i-tunes

Date parution : Octobre 2007 - Code barre : 3504129300913

Autres références :

Compositeur : Beethoven
Interprète : Badura-Skoda, Laszlo, Liewehr, Scherchen

Johann Sebastian Bach - Messe en Si

Tah 618/619 - Johann Sebastian Bach - Messe en Si

Johann Sebastian Bach - Messe en Si bémol, BWV 232 (Hohe Messe) - Solistes: Emmy Loose (Soprano I), Hilde Ceska (Soprano II), Gertrud Burgsthaler-Schuster (Contralto), Anton Dermota (Ténor), Alfred Poell (Basse), Anton Heiller (Orgue) - Wiener Symphoniker, Wiener Akademie Kammerchor - Direction: Hermann Scherchen - Enregistrement réalisé dans la Mozartsaal de Vienne en octobre 1950

En 1950 Hermann Scherchen signa avec la firme américaine Westminster et son producteur Jimmy Grayson un contrat en vue de réaliser des enregistrements à Vienne et Londres. le premier d’entre eux fut réalisé en octobre de la même année: la messe en si de Bach, monument de la musique occidentale. En 1952 l’Académie Charles Cros décerna à cet enregistrement un Grand Prix du Disque. Scherchen devait faire une centaine d’enregistrements jusqu’en 1964, année de la faillite de Westminster.

Note : Disponible en téléchargement sur i-tunes

Date parution : Janvier 2007 - Code barre : 3504129061814

Autres références :

Compositeur : Bach
Interprète : Scherchen

English
Tahra